Snacks

As you may have noticed, I don’t share my snacks in my meal plans. That’s because I don’t plan them to the degree in which I plan my meals. I like to give myself the freedom and the chance to prove to myself that I can make good choices on a whim. But I thought it might be a good idea to share.

A thing to know about me real quick, is that I love a damn snack. Sweet and salty is my favorite thing, but salt is bad for you blah blah blahhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Whatever, I like it. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Before I tell you what I eat now, I suppose I should start with what we used to buy. Because I feel like you can talk to super healthy people who tell you they eat carrots and celery all day, but that’s not hard for them since they were never on the junk food train to begin with. I however, was the conductor of that train.

We love ice cream and popcorn. Not just normal popcorn, but movie theater butter popcorn. We always love Oreos and I really enjoy the unhealthiest trail mix. It’s the one from Chex Mix that is specifically for people who like sweet and salty. It’s called sweet and salty. In case you weren’t sure. It’s not just me who loves snacking, either. My snacking problem is in no way, shape or form my husband’s fault, but I sure as hell piggyback on his cravings. And unfortunately for me, I was not blessed with his ridiculously fast metabolism. So I hate him.

What I eat now:

I buy a lot more fresh fruit and have really committed to taking it to work with me. So as I’m typing this, I’m eating fresh strawberries and blueberries that I prepped last night.

We still eat popcorn a lot, but I’ve started buying Cape Cod brand that is not butter. I’ve tried the white cheddar and sea salt, the salted caramel is on standby in my cupboard. I can eat a decent amount for fairly low point value.

I need something chocolate in the day, but I didn’t want to waste points on something that would just leave me hungry 25 minutes later. When I was at Target the other day, I fell prey to suggestive selling. There was an end cap filled with Think Thin protein bars that were on sale. SALE!!! I can’t get enough of a good sale, it borders being an actual problem. I’m just a few steps away from being a crazy coupon lady. I digress. So I used my WW app to scan the box and see how many points they were, and they’re only 5. The fact that they are high protein and high fiber tells me that they’ll be satisfying. The fact that they had s’mores and salted caramel flavors tells me that it would make me happy.

The best thing I’ve found, is hands down Halo Top ice cream. In case you haven’t heard of it, run to your nearest grocery store, let it thaw a little bit, and dig in. It’s high protein and low cal/sugar, so it costs me hardly any points. I could eat the entire pint for about the same amount of points from one serving Ben & Jerry’s. Since it’s so high protein, something about science makes it less creamy if you just dig in as soon as you pull it out of the freezer. It really is better if you wait.

I have a few recipes to try for snack-y things, but I just haven’t cared to do that just yet. Once I do, of course, I’ll post about it. If anyone has any snacks they love, let me know!

Happy snacking!

Leave a Reply

